May 1, 2023

Students Inducted Into National Honor Society

Ames High School’s annual induction ceremony for the National Honor Society was held on April 30 in the Wayne “Hank” Hansen Performing Arts Center. A total of 77 students were inducted into the Ames High School’s National Honor Society chapter.

The National Honor Society is an organization whose purpose is to create an enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire to render service, to promote worthy leadership, and to encourage the development of character in all students of Ames High School. NHS is the nation’s oldest and best-known student recognition program and was founded in 1921 by the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

To be eligible for membership consideration, students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.4 GPA. Additionally, candidates must meet high standards of service, leadership, and character.

Leadership is based on the student’s participation in community or school activities, or election to an office. To meet the service requirement, the student must have been active in service projects in the school and community. Character is measured in terms of integrity, behavior, ethics, and cooperation with both students and faculty. Student applications were reviewed by a faculty council consisting of Ames High teachers.

Along with the 77 new inductees, the Ames Chapter of the National Honor Society recognized their senior members. Seniors received their gold cord to wear on graduation day.

Congratulations to the 2023 NHS inductees and seniors.

Junior Inductees for 2023

  • Abhi Amuluru
  • Charlie Bennett
  • Jones Drury
  • Alex Gatiba
  • William Geisler
  • Jackson Goeders
  • Sevilin Gul
  • Adelae Johnson
  • Lane Kenny
  • John Kim
  • Olivia Knutson
  • Mengze Li
  • Allison Metschke
  • Haley Pathmaprakashan
  • Joshua Romitti
  • Karina Scott
  • Caleb Sheldon
  • Hannah Song
  • Jude Spillers
  • Ian Spry
  • Sophia Timmermans
  • Nadia Tulp
  • Kevin Wang
  • Paige Wiertzema
  • Noah Williamson

Sophomore Inductees for 2023

  • Siri Amuluru
  • Carissa Andorf
  • Ananya Balaji
  • Avyay Balaji
  • Luke Brekke
  • Bridger Brundy
  • Catherine Buloze
  • Isabela Chuldjian-Pardo
  • Amaya Dassanayake
  • Elizabeth Duncan
  • Nahide Aylin Erden
  • Chantal de Macedo Eulenstein
  • Oliver Fields
  • Madie Fischer
  • Bowen Flemming
  • Christian Gallt
  • Robert J. Glotfelty
  • Trevor Goodwin
  • Hannah Harvey
  • Meabh Hennessy
  • Caraline Hertz
  • Annika Hinson
  • Victoria Huss
  • Nadia Kobayashi
  • Ethan Kwon
  • Wenjun Liu
  • Helen Mao
  • Elisabeth Mathews
  • Kaylee McClure
  • Kaylee Mescher
  • Emersen Motl
  • Fatimah Naraghi
  • Harrison Orngard
  • Joseph Payton
  • Nathan Poag
  • Shreya Srinath
  • Will Stevens
  • Bailey Stewart
  • Jackie Strotman
  • Eliza Teske
  • Marley Turk
  • Emileth Valdivia Barajas
  • Elio Viatori
  • Caleb Vis
  • Maci Vogel
  • Skyler Wade
  • Grant Wellington
  • Joshua Wo
  • Estelle Wong
  • Grace Wu
  • Bianca Y.T. Garciano
  • Adam Zhu

Senior Members of NHS

2023 NHS Seniors